>A Vision In White

>

My white roses are in bloom this week. I love white roses and have always wanted to grow them in my garden, but had hesitated because so many had said they were fussy and had to be pampered. To some extent, I guess they were right. Last month, I had reported that the blooms on my white roses looked “dirty”, had brown spots and were not attractive. A fellow blogger thought it might be botrytis. It is a fungal disease and can ruin a rose bloom. The disease affects mainly white and light color roses, and can be controlled with spray. I began a spray routine especially for this problem. It seems to have worked. This flush of bloom is free of spots. See for yourself!
Moondance – floribunda
Beautiful bloom form
Moondance
Center has a green tint when opening
Moondance
This floribunda is now one to watch.
__________________________________________________
Iceberg – floribunda
This bush was just planted int he spring and is a bloom machine!
Iceberg
They make great bouquets from just one stem of blooms

Iceberg
The petals of this rose seem very thin to me, which only adds to its allure.

___________________________________________________

While I think white roses require a tad more care, I definitely think they are well worth the effort.

About Redneck Rosarian

For Chris VanCleave aka "The Redneck Rosarian", growing roses has become a passion. An American Rose Society Accredited Consulting Rosarian, Chris is an active member of the Birmingham Rose Society and most recently served two terms as President. He is a member of the American Rose Society serving on the Marketing and Membership committees. His writing appears at About.com, on his popular blog, RedneckRosarian.com where he chronicles his gardening adventures and explores an intrinsic mix of life, faith and gardening. Creator and host of Rose Chat Radio, the only broadcast dedicated to growing roses, Chris is a tireless advocate of our national floral emblem; the rose. He and his wife tend a rose garden of over 150 roses just south of Birmingham, Alabama.
This entry was posted in Iceberg, Moondance. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to >A Vision In White

  1. Laura says:

    >Love the Ice Berg, very nice!

    Like this

  2. >What spray did you use? I normally use the Bayer Advanced Disease Control, but still have some boytritis on a few roses. I can't seem to get rid of it. The weather this year has been very hot/wet and I think that has contributed to it.

    Like this

  3. >Your roses are lovely. I have many different varieties, but have never grown Moondance.~~Dee

    Like this

  4. debsgarden says:

    >Beautiful! I love the creamy white and blush colored roses.Your hard work has paid off.

    Like this

  5. Jennifer says:

    >I love white roses at dusk..they just glow! Yours are beautiful!

    Like this

I Appreciate Your Comments

