>Final Bloom of 2009 – Final Thoughts Of The Season

>

Once again, Mr. Lincoln is our final bloom of the year. Even though I had to brave a blowing rain to get it; it was well worth it. This specimen has a beautiful long stem and foliage with a bloom open almost at exhibition stage. The fragrance of a Mr. Lincoln can fill a room.

I have learned so much this year working with my roses. The one thing I learned was the importance of talking to other people who grow roses. My affiliation with the Birmingham Rose Society has helped my endeavor more than anything. Through this organization, I now know the proper care for the roses I grow in my own part of the world. I want to encourage you to get involved in a local society in your area. Most people think that they only “grow to show”, some do, but the vast majority “grow for glow”. I guess what I mean by that is they grow roses for the glow on someone’s face when they pass your house and admire your roses, or the glow on someone’s face when you present them with a fistful of blooms you grew with your own hands in your own garden. It is truly a priceless sight to see!!!!!
Just because winter is setting in doesn’t mean rest for the rose grower. We have much work to do during the winter months. Before you know it, final frost will have come and gone and it will be time to prune in the deep south!!!!!

About Chris VanCleave - America's Favorite Rose Gardener

Christopher R. VanCleave – America’s Favorite Rose Gardener Nicknamed "The Redneck Rosarian”, Chris VanCleave is passionate about gardening and growing roses. He is an active member of the Birmingham chapter of the American Rose Society, serving two terms as President. In 2007, he created the Rose Chat Podcast which has reached over a half a million listeners with news and information on growing on growing the world’s most beloved flower, the rose. He was a contributor to the 2015 Southern Living Gardening Book, has appeared on P. Allen Smith’s Garden Home television show and was featured in the June 2015 issue of Southern Living Magazine. Locally, Chris serves as Chairman of the Helena Alabama Beautification Board where he has spearheaded efforts to create a sustainable landscape in one of the top one hundred places to live in the United States. His writing is seen at About.com and on his popular website; RedneckRosarian.com, where he chronicles his gardening adventures and explores an intrinsic mix of life, faith and gardening. An agent of change with over 20 years’ experience in process innovation, Mr. VanCleave is leading the charge to reinvigorate horticultural societies and helping them to reach their full potential in the social media age.
This entry was posted in Mr. Lincoln. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to >Final Bloom of 2009 – Final Thoughts Of The Season

  1. >Although I have no modern grafted roses, I can appreciate your passion. My yard 'glows' with the antiques.Great post.

    Like

  2. >I am in awe of your roses!! I garden in the English Cottage style, therefore I really need roses … but mine are a disaster in comparison to yours. I have a lot to learn… I'm going to be looking to you for advice. Great post.

    Like

  3. Sue Swift says:

    >I've tried and tried to grow roses, but they just shrivel up here :(Found you through Blotanical, incidentally.

    Like

  4. >Thanks to all for the kind words. Jim,I want to plant old variety roses. White and Pink in color, what would you suggest? Pam, David Austin Roses should do very well in your climate with a little winter protection and would add more beauty to your already beautiful garden. Sue, I just joined Blotanical. I'm sure if we dug deep enough we could find some that would thrive in the bright sunshine of italy!

    Like

  5. Nell Jean says:

    >I found your blog by way of Blotanical. Welcome; there are many rosarians here. I am not a formal grower of roses, but roses do bloom in my garden.Explore Blotanical a bit, check your Plot for messages and click on the Help tab to read the FAQ which answers many questions you didn't think to ask, yet.

    Like

  6. janie says:

    >I love Mr. Lincoln. I had one for years, and the drought this summer finally did it in. Even though we watered and watered, plants need the rain to wash away the salts. Maybe next year, I will replace him.I have roses around the garden, everywhere, even in the vegetable garden. I love them, but I an not nearly the rose gardener you are. Great post!

    Like

  7. Autumn Belle says:

    >I love roses but the weather here is too hot. We can only grow a few varieties of the smaller ones. You have a beautiful rose here in your post. Welcome to Blotanical!

    Like

I Appreciate Your Comments

