>Seed Saving – Grits Going Green

>

My grandmother always used to tell me ” a person has to have grits for breakfast, it sets a body up for the whole day”. She always had a large steaming bowl ready for her 6 a.m. breakfast table in Pearl Mississippi when I was growing up. I have eaten grits all my life and have thrown away the “cardboard can” they come in. This year, having been made aware that my carbon footprint is of “bigfoot” proportions, I am resolved to make an effort to re-use some things that I have previously discarded, and try to conserve where ever I can.

Something my grandmother loved (besides her favorite grandson) was flowers, especially zinnias. I began gathering zinnia seeds this summer after mine were spent. One morning, after finishing up a box of grits, I noticed that the “paper can” they came in would make a great container for storing flower seeds. So, I ripped off the label, cut holes in the tops for good ventilation, (you don’t want your seeds to hold moisture) and poured the seeds inside. I ended up with about a 1/4 grit box full of seeds.

Hopefully, this will put me on the road to sustainable living……….
About Chris VanCleave - America's Favorite Rose Gardener

Christopher R. VanCleave – America’s Favorite Rose Gardener Nicknamed "The Redneck Rosarian”, Chris VanCleave is passionate about gardening and growing roses. He is an active member of the Birmingham chapter of the American Rose Society, serving two terms as President. In 2007, he created the Rose Chat Podcast which has reached over a half a million listeners with news and information on growing on growing the world’s most beloved flower, the rose. He was a contributor to the 2015 Southern Living Gardening Book, has appeared on P. Allen Smith’s Garden Home television show and was featured in the June 2015 issue of Southern Living Magazine. Locally, Chris serves as Chairman of the Helena Alabama Beautification Board where he has spearheaded efforts to create a sustainable landscape in one of the top one hundred places to live in the United States. His writing is seen at About.com and on his popular website; RedneckRosarian.com, where he chronicles his gardening adventures and explores an intrinsic mix of life, faith and gardening. An agent of change with over 20 years’ experience in process innovation, Mr. VanCleave is leading the charge to reinvigorate horticultural societies and helping them to reach their full potential in the social media age.
This entry was posted in Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to >Seed Saving – Grits Going Green

  1. >Hey, thanks for following me on Twitter. I had to chuckle at the name of your blog. In Oklahoma, I am surrounded by rednecks and roses. In fact, my neck is a bit pink as well. I'll look forward to reading about your rose adventures.~~Dee

    Like

  2. janie says:

    >Hi, Mr. Rosarian, Probably the cardboard grits box would be enough to absorb the moisture from your seeds, provided they were well matured when you put them in there. You could always put a paper towel in with them, rather than cut holes in the top. I save my seeds in paper coin envelopes to keep them from molding. The envelopes absorb the moisture, wheras a plastic zipper bag is more likely to allow your seeds to mold and mildew. Just a thought. I commend you for recycling efforts. Every little bit helps. I like the idea of reusing things.

    Like

  3. Nell Jean says:

    >I save pill bottles for seeds. Husband takes some huge pills.In South Georgia, cheese grits are frequently on a steam table in little restaurants specializing in fried catfish and the like, as an accompaniment in lieu of french fries or other starch. I think of cheese grits as dessert and usually eat mine last.My husband is not fond of grits. "Why not, you ate grits every morning for breakfast the first 21 years of your life?" I asked. That's why I don't like grits, he replied.

    Like

  4. >What a great story and memories. Good post!

    Like

  5. >I love your re-purposed grits box. Think of all the boxes of grits you have emptied in your life! Wow! That's a lot of grits. I enjoyed reading about you on your blog. Traveling with mission work is an amazing adventure, isn't it? My husband and I went to Toreon, Mexico last year to visit a children's home that we support. It has opened my eyes! It's one thing to give money, but something altogether different to go and meet them and take them into your heart!

    Like

  6. >I enjoyed your post. I love grits; must be in the southern blood. Reusing the box for seeds sounds like a great idea.

    Like

I Appreciate Your Comments

