>Christmas Bells Are Ringing……

>Don’t know about the rest of you, but I cannot believe that it’s Christmastime! After a whirlwind trip to Nashville to be with friends and family for Thanksgiving, I was back home on the Friday after, putting up our Christmas decorations. The Helena Christmas parade was last Saturday and was quite good. Bo Bice was our Grand Marshall. (Helena’s only national claim to fame). We attended the Birmingham Rose Societies annual Holiday Celebration on Monday evening. It was great to see everyone. We enjoyed a great meal and was entertained by the “Leeding Ladies” a singing group from Leeds Al. They have an awesome sound. As a part of the festivities, a friend and fellow rosarian, Glenn Hodge of Chelsea AL was awarded the Bronze Honor Award from the American Rose Society. He does so much for our society. He has taught me much about roses and the society…..

Many people have asked what I am giving for Christmas this year. I smiled and told one lady, in an economy where many are so broke they cannot afford to pay attention, I hope to give “good advice”…..

I read a quote on Christmas giving that I wanted to share. Not sure who wrote it, but it rings true in my heart this Christmas.

Christmas Gift Suggestions: To your enemy, forgiveness. To your opponent, tolerance. To a friend, your heart. To a customer, service. To all, charity. To every child, a good example. To yourself, respect.

About Chris VanCleave - America's Favorite Rose Gardener

Christopher R. VanCleave – America’s Favorite Rose Gardener Nicknamed "The Redneck Rosarian”, Chris VanCleave is passionate about gardening and growing roses. He is an active member of the Birmingham chapter of the American Rose Society, serving two terms as President. In 2007, he created the Rose Chat Podcast which has reached over a half a million listeners with news and information on growing on growing the world’s most beloved flower, the rose. He was a contributor to the 2015 Southern Living Gardening Book, has appeared on P. Allen Smith’s Garden Home television show and was featured in the June 2015 issue of Southern Living Magazine. Locally, Chris serves as Chairman of the Helena Alabama Beautification Board where he has spearheaded efforts to create a sustainable landscape in one of the top one hundred places to live in the United States. His writing is seen at About.com and on his popular website; RedneckRosarian.com, where he chronicles his gardening adventures and explores an intrinsic mix of life, faith and gardening. An agent of change with over 20 years’ experience in process innovation, Mr. VanCleave is leading the charge to reinvigorate horticultural societies and helping them to reach their full potential in the social media age.
This entry was posted in Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to >Christmas Bells Are Ringing……

  1. Nell Jean says:

    >I'll take all of those. Thank you very much. A very Merry Christmas to You and Yours.I still have Belinda's Dream and both Red and Pink Knockout with brave rosebuds.

    Like

  2. >Wow! My knockouts are just about knocked out for the season, but like you I still have a few buds. My pink knock out has done exceptionally well this year. More than doubled in size since planting it in early spring. Very light color. One of my wife's favs…

    Like

  3. >These are very good Christmas gift suggestions! Thank you! Happy holiday season!

    Like

  4. >You are such a good person. I sometimes wished I had those gifts to give. Key word: sometimes. 🙂

    Like

  5. >I love your gift list! Happy Holidays! Pamela

    Like

  6. debsgarden says:

    >If only the whole world would give such gifts. I enjoyed your post – thank you.

    Like

  7. Jim Groble says:

    >Well said. A Merry Christmas to you and your family.jim

    Like

  8. >Thanks for visiting my site. You are always welcome. Your Christmas gift list touched my heart. I want to be on that list. It reminds me of Amy Grant's song My Grown-up Christmas List.Donna

    Like

I Appreciate Your Comments

