>10 Franklin Street – Beauty from Ashes?

>http://picasaweb.google.com/s/c/bin/slideshow.swf

Nestled deep in Alabama’s Black Belt region sits a tiny town, called Uniontown. During the plantation days, the town was swarming with people in the cotton trade and related interests. Now, things aren’t so good. Stately homes; once the talk of the town for their beauty and charm, are now sitting in ruins. On one of our recent “Historic Alabama” Saturday drives, Tina and I set out for Uniontown and found this diamond in the rough. 10 Franklin Street was the home of a local merchant and is located in town and is adjacent to a historic Episcopal Church which boasts beautiful Tiffany and Co. stained glass windows.

We have seriously considered acquiring this property for restoration and the establishment of a albeit small, yet public rose garden and event facility. This place has so much potential, as does this tiny town that seems to have lost it’s way in the world.

I took some measurements and could easily plant 200 or so roses in raised beds on the property.

About Chris VanCleave - America's Favorite Rose Gardener

Christopher R. VanCleave – America’s Favorite Rose Gardener Nicknamed "The Redneck Rosarian”, Chris VanCleave is passionate about gardening and growing roses. He is an active member of the Birmingham chapter of the American Rose Society, serving two terms as President. In 2007, he created the Rose Chat Podcast which has reached over a half a million listeners with news and information on growing on growing the world’s most beloved flower, the rose. He was a contributor to the 2015 Southern Living Gardening Book, has appeared on P. Allen Smith’s Garden Home television show and was featured in the June 2015 issue of Southern Living Magazine. Locally, Chris serves as Chairman of the Helena Alabama Beautification Board where he has spearheaded efforts to create a sustainable landscape in one of the top one hundred places to live in the United States. His writing is seen at About.com and on his popular website; RedneckRosarian.com, where he chronicles his gardening adventures and explores an intrinsic mix of life, faith and gardening. An agent of change with over 20 years’ experience in process innovation, Mr. VanCleave is leading the charge to reinvigorate horticultural societies and helping them to reach their full potential in the social media age.
This entry was posted in Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to >10 Franklin Street – Beauty from Ashes?

  1. >How exciting! Would you do the garden to period (or include moderns)?Restoring a house is an endless project.

    Like

  2. >This sounds like an exciting prospect. I can imagine how much fun it would be to restore and plan a garden.

    Like

  3. Meredith says:

    >What a gorgeous home! I hope you restore it. As a Southerner to my core, I love those old homes and would love to have one, myself, one day. I wonder, as GG above, if you'd do only period roses or all kinds? Antique roses are so lovely…

    Like

  4. >Jim and Meredith,I think I would stay pretty close to the period on plantings. I'm not sure if I could resist a few hybrid teas here and there though…. ha…..

    Like

  5. >It's wonderful to see someone with the vision and imagination necessary to see what a house like this can become. Have you restored a house before? … Connie

    Like

  6. Jess says:

    >Oh do it do it do it! I hate to see these gorgeous places get knocked down, and I love too see what someone with just a tiny bit of vision can do with both the house and the gardens!

    Like

  7. Stone Art says:

    >Sounds like a fantastic project, would love to do somting like that, you should totaly go for it, then you can keep us all updated on your progress. Good luck with it, and enjoy:)

    Like

  8. >I have never tackled a restoration project before. I have spoke to several who have and they said to "proceed with caution and lots of $$$".. I had to laugh at that.This property is a part of the National Register of Historic Places. They and the Alabama Historic Commission have also promised advice and have put us in touch with several others who have gone down this path. We have such a love for history and want to make sure if we begin such a project, that all things have been considered and that we can complete to project to standards. Thanks to all for your words of encouagement.

    Like

  9. Anonymous says:

    >Amiable brief and this enter helped me alot in my college assignement. Thank you on your information.

    Like

  10. Kate says:

    >If you don't buy it, I will! What a fabulous find! I hope you go for it. 🙂 Thanks for stopping over and visiting my blog. Happy Valentine's!

    Like

  11. Jim Groble says:

    >Thanks for stopping by my blog. it is always appreciate it.Sum and Substance Hosta is bright green. I have examples on my header. Blur Mammoth is a giant "blue" hosta. it's really a dusty dark green. both grow to 6 feet wide and 2-3 feet tall. I have examples of both in my phooey forbes post. They need moist composty soil and a killing frost to go dormant. If they don't go dormant,they won't grow bigger. I have ligularia seed if you want. it will grow where hosta grows. I can send you a bunch. jim

    Like

I Appreciate Your Comments

