>Spring Pruning 2010 – Complete

>

It has been raining here for two days now. I was determined to prune this week come “hell or high water”, I never imagined the latter would occur, but it did. Just up the road, The Cahaba River is at flood stage in Old Town and my back yard is standing in water.

So, with pruners in my hand and a hoodie on my head, I began the task at hand.

Lots of die back this year. My “Dream Come True”, “Queen Elizabeth”, and “Mr. Lincoln” were pruned almost to the ground. I hope they make a comeback.

If the rain lets up and the water recedes, I will being my spray program this weekend.

This year, I will be spraying fungicide weekly; rotating Ortho and Mancozeb. This rotation was suggested to me by several rosarians and I hope to have better control of blackspot. I only spray insecticide if I see a problem. Don’t want to kill the good bugs… :)

The photo is from last summer “Dream Come True” Grandiflora.
About Redneck Rosarian

For Chris VanCleave aka "The Redneck Rosarian", growing roses has become a passion. An American Rose Society Accredited Consulting Rosarian, Chris is an active member of the Birmingham Rose Society and most recently served two terms as President. He is a member of the American Rose Society serving on the Marketing and Membership committees. His writing appears at About.com, on his popular blog, RedneckRosarian.com where he chronicles his gardening adventures and explores an intrinsic mix of life, faith and gardening. Creator and host of Rose Chat Radio, the only broadcast dedicated to growing roses, Chris is a tireless advocate of our national floral emblem; the rose. He and his wife tend a rose garden of over 150 roses just south of Birmingham, Alabama.
This entry was posted in Care And Feeding, Dream Come True, Mr. Lincoln, Queen Elizabeth, Rose Report. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to >Spring Pruning 2010 – Complete

  1. >Chris, I'm noticing a lot of canker. Not much die back, even on the Teas.The bourbons always suffer. I should just throw them out.

    Like this

  2. Rosey Pollen says:

    >This has NOTHING to do with your post but I wanted to say thanks for mentioning "Luther" on your favorite movies. We watched it this week and absolutely LOVED It.It was amazing. Rosey

    Like this

  3. >Rosey, So glad you enjoyed Luther. He is a hero of mine. I thought this film was well made.

    Like this

  4. Jennifer says:

    >Glad someone has luck with Queen E. Mine got shovel pruned today! She just never earned her keep. I'm going to plant my montana mayleen clematis in her place when it comes from mail order. I scored on 2 40# bags of rose fertilizer on freecycle yesterday. Soon I'm going to work on spreading that around. I haven't had much dieback on my roses which surprises me with the winter we had. I finally got to the last of my rose pruning..2 knockout standards and my mammoth knockout by my porch.

    Like this

I Appreciate Your Comments

