>Austin Madness

>

I guess I have read too many English gardening books this summer, I have been fixating on David Austin roses this summer. Jim, the Gaudy Gardener called it “rose fever”, I think! Anyway, Tina made another trip to Nashville over the weekend. I convinced her to go by S & W Greenhouse, in White House, TN while she was there. If you know Tina, you know that shopping is her thing, even if that means traipsing through steaming hot greenhouses! With me yapping in one ear on her cell and the owner of the greenhouse in her other ear, we were able to select 4 more David Austin Roses for our garden.

This brings our total rose count to 49. I have space for one raised bed alongside the one I built this spring. I plan to fill this bed with exhibition hybrid teas. After that, my little garden will be full. (at least until I have that cherry blossom tree removed thats shading my last available plot of ground)

2 Benjamin Britten Rose Shrubs

To be planted along the back fence alongside 2 “Mary Rose” shrubs

purchased during my July 4th weekend visit to Nashville. The coloring of this rose has been described as a “strong salmon pink, that changes with age to particularly strong shade of pure pink.”

1 L. D. Braithwaite Rose Shrub
(I wanted 3, but alas; only one remained)

(This bush has a few blooms, I could not help snapping a photo of one!)

Bright crimson colored blooms, wonderful old rose scent. It is said to be related to the “Mary Rose” in its form and habit in the garden, as well as excellent winter hardiness and ability to grow well in hot areas. Planting location to be determined………

1 Mary Rose Shrub

I just had to have one more of this rose. Such a beauty.
I think I am going to plant this one in the iris bed with the “Burgundy Iceberg”.

This brings my overall David Austin rose count up to 7.

About Chris VanCleave - America's Favorite Rose Gardener

Christopher R. VanCleave – America’s Favorite Rose Gardener Nicknamed "The Redneck Rosarian”, Chris VanCleave is passionate about gardening and growing roses. He is an active member of the Birmingham chapter of the American Rose Society, serving two terms as President. In 2007, he created the Rose Chat Podcast which has reached over a half a million listeners with news and information on growing on growing the world’s most beloved flower, the rose. He was a contributor to the 2015 Southern Living Gardening Book, has appeared on P. Allen Smith’s Garden Home television show and was featured in the June 2015 issue of Southern Living Magazine. Locally, Chris serves as Chairman of the Helena Alabama Beautification Board where he has spearheaded efforts to create a sustainable landscape in one of the top one hundred places to live in the United States. His writing is seen at About.com and on his popular website; RedneckRosarian.com, where he chronicles his gardening adventures and explores an intrinsic mix of life, faith and gardening. An agent of change with over 20 years’ experience in process innovation, Mr. VanCleave is leading the charge to reinvigorate horticultural societies and helping them to reach their full potential in the social media age.
This entry was posted in Benjamin Britten, L.D. Braithwaite, Mary Rose. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to >Austin Madness

  1. Jim says:

    >Oh yes……the disease grows…..

    Like

  2. Laura says:

    >Well you can't have that. 49 will not do. It's got to be an even 50! 😉 You made some beautiful choices.

    Like

  3. Jeff Branch says:

    >Just found your blog. I'm in Pelham. Added you to my blog roll.

    Like

  4. >Chris, I have a Benjamin Britten planted on the northside of my house. It's healthy, lush and does pretty well. The color is quite handsome, one side of the petal a shocking deep pink, the other a rich redish salmon. A little shade may be a good thing for BenB, as I've found the flower wilts on hot days. And I remind you that I live in the Seattle area. It could just be my stingy watering regimen, who knows, but it's still a great addition to the garden.

    Like

I Appreciate Your Comments

