>Types Of Roses – Next Steps

>

I get quite a few e-mails asking about different types of roses. Most of what you see at the “big box” stores are landscaping roses, such as the Knockout Roses that everyone seems to grow. Every now and then, you see a few hybrid teas and floribundas mixed in, and hardly ever any older garden varieties. I did come across two “Caldwell Pinks” at Lowe’s last summer, and snatched them right up off the clearance table for $1.75 each. They are now thriving in my garden. When I first began to grow roses, I had not idea how many different types of roses their are. In fact, as of this writing their are over 3,000 roses in commerce in the US alone.

The American Rose Society (ARS) publishes a handy little guide each year, entitled “Handbook for Selecting Roses”. It is updated on an annual basis. It is chocked full of information on just about any type of rose you might have a question about. I carry mine with me anytime I go out on the “hunt” for roses. If you are a member of the ARS, it is free to you. Non-members can order one for $10 by writing to the ARS @ 8877 Jefferson Paige Road, Shreveport, LA 71119-8817.

The American Rose Society classifies roses for purposes of identification. the classifications are also used as a guide when setting up and judging rose shows.

From the Genus Rosa comes three wide categories of roses:

Species Roses or “Found Roses”

Old garden Roses – Roses cultivated prior to 1867 :

  • Alba
  • Ayrshire
  • Bourbon & Climbing Bourbon
  • Boursalt
  • Centifolia
  • China & Climging China
  • Damask
  • Hybrid Bracteata
  • Hybrid China & Climbing Hybrid China
  • Hybrid Eglanteria
  • Hybrid Foetida
  • Hybrid Gallica
  • Hybrid Multiflora
  • Hybrid Perpetual & Climbing Hybrid Perpetual
  • Hybrid Sempervirens
  • Hybrid Setigera
  • Hybrid Spinosissima
  • Miscellaneous OGR’s
  • Moss & Climbing Moss
  • Noisette
  • Portland
  • Tea & Climbing Tea

Modern Roses – Roses cultivated after 1867. Why 1867?
The introduction of “LaFrance”, the first Hybrid Tea opened up a new world of possibilities with roses. A line was forever drawn……..:

  • Floribunda & Climbing Floribunda
  • Grandiflora & Climbing Grandiflora
  • Hybrid Giantea
  • Hybrid Kordesii
  • Hybrid Moyesii
  • Hybrid Rugosa
  • Hybrid Tea & Climbing Hybrid Tea
  • Hybrid Wichurana
  • Large-Flowered Climber
  • Miniature & Climbing Miniature
  • Miniflora & Climbing Miniflora
  • Polyantha & Climbing Polyantha
  • Shrub

If you are like me, you have probably only see a few of the varieties listed here. If you have read this blog long, you know that I have made it a point to plant all types of roses in my garden. It is very interesting to me to see the growth habit and blooms of each variety.

I want to challenge you to seek out and plant a rose that is currently unknown to you. Or better yet, share a new rose with a friend. I gave my neighbor 3 “sunny knockouts” this summer and she was overjoyed when they bloomed!

I am always planning for the next growing season. I have on order 6 floribundas that will fill my 3rd and final raised bed. With little “ground” room left, I am left with no choice but to resort to growing roses in pots. With that said, my next venture will be to try miniflora roses. These will be grown in large pots. I recently met a gentlemen by the name of David Clemons. He lives at Grant, Alabama. He hybridizes miniature and miniflora roses. He names all his creations after thoroughbred horses. I have seen some of these roses at rose shows and they are spectacular! I have on my list the following of his roses to acquire:

  • Whirlaway – Miniflora
  • Unbridled – Miniflora
  • Joy – Miniflora
  • Tabasco Cat – Miniflora

If you get a chance check out David’s website.

I know of no other flower on the planet that comes in as many shapes and sizes as does the rose. Why not try a new one?

Blessings to you all this Christmas!

About Chris VanCleave - America's Favorite Rose Gardener

Christopher R. VanCleave – America’s Favorite Rose Gardener Nicknamed "The Redneck Rosarian”, Chris VanCleave is passionate about gardening and growing roses. He is an active member of the Birmingham chapter of the American Rose Society, serving two terms as President. In 2007, he created the Rose Chat Podcast which has reached over a half a million listeners with news and information on growing on growing the world’s most beloved flower, the rose. He was a contributor to the 2015 Southern Living Gardening Book, has appeared on P. Allen Smith’s Garden Home television show and was featured in the June 2015 issue of Southern Living Magazine. Locally, Chris serves as Chairman of the Helena Alabama Beautification Board where he has spearheaded efforts to create a sustainable landscape in one of the top one hundred places to live in the United States. His writing is seen at About.com and on his popular website; RedneckRosarian.com, where he chronicles his gardening adventures and explores an intrinsic mix of life, faith and gardening. An agent of change with over 20 years’ experience in process innovation, Mr. VanCleave is leading the charge to reinvigorate horticultural societies and helping them to reach their full potential in the social media age.
This entry was posted in Rose Report, Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to >Types Of Roses – Next Steps

  1. >When I ran out of room to be able to add to my collection, I told my other half I wanted to remove the driveway for a new rose bed. He said he'd leave me if I did, To which I replied, I'll miss you.The disease progresses!

    Like

  2. >We do have a tree that could be taken down. This would allow for at least a dozen or so more shrubs! Glad to see you are blogging again! The blogsphere has missed you!

    Like

  3. >Chris, you are very special person! Thanks.

    Like

  4. >Chris, you live in a part of the country well suited for Noisettes (from South Carolina originally). They are stunning, fragrant climbers in most cases. They are my favorite group of roses.

    Like

  5. ROUGH.ROSA says:

    >What a great idea! I admit I have preferences when buying roses, in terms of form, growth habit, etc. Planting roses that are completely different from what I normally like would be a nice change.

    Like

  6. >Great information my rosarian friend. Thank you.~~Dee

    Like

  7. >Dear Chris, Thank you so much for invaluable information! I have greatly enjoyed reading your blog this year and have learned a lot from you. Have a blessed Christmas and a happy and healthy 2011. Pam

    Like

I Appreciate Your Comments

