>Wacky Alabama Weather

> On Wednesday, we had 2″ of snow on the ground and temps in the teens. By Sunday the temperature had risen to 60 degrees with the snow gone and the sun shining bright, I took an opportunity to get outside and enjoy the afternoon in the garden.

I drug out all our pots from the garage to determine how many, if any new pots would be needed for the Spring/Summer growing season. I will only need 3 large ones to house new mini flora roses on order. I was so tempted to prune my roses! I know better, though. Just as this was a crazy week for weather, I know that we still have a few more weeks of it to go. If I prune now, I run the risk of loosing tender foliage to a late cold snap, so I will wait. I try to time my first cycle of bloom to coincide with the upcoming Birmingham Rose Show held each year on Mother’s Day weekend at the Birmingham Botanical Gardens. So, knowing that it takes about 45-60 days after pruning/fertilizing to produce roses on stem , I will prune around March 10th to try an accomplish this. Despite my best efforts, I always seems to miss it each year by a few days. The weekend of the show I am either saying “my flush of bloom was last week” or “my bushes are full of buds”… I have said this before and I guess I will says it again, I do not exhibit to win prizes. I exhibit to help accomplish the mission of any rose society worth their salt, “To increase the general knowledge on the cultivation of the rose as our National Floral Emblem.” If they stick a ribbon on my roses, i’m proud as punch, if not i’m ok with that. Ok, I got off topic a little…..

I was also able to clear out the day lily bed from fallen leaves and other debris. Hoping to see some pretty lilies this summer too! And oh, my Zinnia seedlings have begun to sprout.
I will be posting this week on a new mixed border bed I hope to finish work on soon. If the weather holds up…….
About Chris VanCleave - America's Favorite Rose Gardener

Christopher R. VanCleave – America’s Favorite Rose Gardener Nicknamed "The Redneck Rosarian”, Chris VanCleave is passionate about gardening and growing roses. He is an active member of the Birmingham chapter of the American Rose Society, serving two terms as President. In 2007, he created the Rose Chat Podcast which has reached over a half a million listeners with news and information on growing on growing the world’s most beloved flower, the rose. He was a contributor to the 2015 Southern Living Gardening Book, has appeared on P. Allen Smith’s Garden Home television show and was featured in the June 2015 issue of Southern Living Magazine. Locally, Chris serves as Chairman of the Helena Alabama Beautification Board where he has spearheaded efforts to create a sustainable landscape in one of the top one hundred places to live in the United States. His writing is seen at About.com and on his popular website; RedneckRosarian.com, where he chronicles his gardening adventures and explores an intrinsic mix of life, faith and gardening. An agent of change with over 20 years’ experience in process innovation, Mr. VanCleave is leading the charge to reinvigorate horticultural societies and helping them to reach their full potential in the social media age.
This entry was posted in Care And Feeding, Rose Show, Rose Society. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to >Wacky Alabama Weather

  1. >It is fun that the season is moving along now to where we can makes some plans. You will be glad to see those roses blooming again. I have my eye one four new additions to the rose garden this spring.It is tempting to get out there and prune but like you I know I have to wait up here because winter is still here.

    Like

  2. >Oh, by the way I have been meaning to ask you…. Do you use Epson Salts or Coffee grounds on your roses? What do you fertilize them with?

    Like

  3. Masha says:

    >I hope all your hard work will pay off. I finished pruning awhile ago and have about an inch of growth on most of my modern and tea roses. I can't wait for spring flush!

    Like

  4. HolleyGarden says:

    >Yes, wacky weather indeed. I admire your restraint on pruning until March. It's hard to wait while the weather is so pretty. Thankfully, it's pruning time for me. Hope waiting pays off for you this year!

    Like

  5. >Lona, Yes I use Epson Salts, but not so much coffee grounds. My mom did and had good luck with it. I use the salts in early spring to help promote new canes. It usually works! Hope this weather holds out and Spring is truly on its way!!!!Masha: Can't waith to see some of your blooms!Holley: I have heard of folks pruning at Valentine's Day. Wish it were warmer here.

    Like

  6. >Dear Chris, Without a doubt you achieve the goal of "increasing the general knowledge on the cultivation of the rose". I continue to learn so much from you. I am sure your roses will be stunning at the show this year! P x

    Like

I Appreciate Your Comments

