Sundays In The South – Breaking Dormancy

>

My Spring Garden – 2011
“Betty Boop” – Floribunda –
From my garden

Spring is an exciting time of year. At least for me anyway. It is a time or renewal and refreshing in the garden and is a darn good opportunity to do a little internal refreshing as well.

“Betty Boop” – Floribunda – From my garden

As most of you know, I went crazy last fall and ordered 9 new floribunda rose bushes. They arrived in late February and upon arrival, we got them planted and settled into to their new homes in the raised beds I built for them. The plants arrived dormant, bare root, unproductive; asleep, if you will.

It was not until I planted them and mixed in all the good ingredients that help makes roses the best they can be, did they recently break dormancy and begin to put out new growth.

I have seen this same scenario play out in my own life at times. I become dormant, stagnant, unproductive. I forget to mix in some of the things that I know will nourish me as an individual and get me growing again. That might take the form of a good book, a night at my local rose society, a conversation with a good friend or a few moments spent in earnest prayer. Just as we apply fertilizers and water and spray to our roses to keep them in optimal health and performance, shouldn’t we do the same for ourselves?

“Betty Boop” – Floribunda
Photo Credit: Weeks Roses
About Chris VanCleave - America's Favorite Rose Gardener

Christopher R. VanCleave – America’s Favorite Rose Gardener Nicknamed "The Redneck Rosarian”, Chris VanCleave is passionate about gardening and growing roses. He is an active member of the Birmingham chapter of the American Rose Society, serving two terms as President. In 2007, he created the Rose Chat Podcast which has reached over a half a million listeners with news and information on growing on growing the world’s most beloved flower, the rose. He was a contributor to the 2015 Southern Living Gardening Book, has appeared on P. Allen Smith’s Garden Home television show and was featured in the June 2015 issue of Southern Living Magazine. Locally, Chris serves as Chairman of the Helena Alabama Beautification Board where he has spearheaded efforts to create a sustainable landscape in one of the top one hundred places to live in the United States. His writing is seen at About.com and on his popular website; RedneckRosarian.com, where he chronicles his gardening adventures and explores an intrinsic mix of life, faith and gardening. An agent of change with over 20 years’ experience in process innovation, Mr. VanCleave is leading the charge to reinvigorate horticultural societies and helping them to reach their full potential in the social media age.
This entry was posted in Betty Boop, Sundays In The South and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sundays In The South – Breaking Dormancy

  1. >Dear Chris, Wise words! Your spring garden is lovely. P x

    Like

  2. tracy says:

    >i ♥ that idea! i think i have been forgetting to give myself enough of the good things that help me grow lately and this has been a great, beautiful reminder. thanks! ♥

    Like

  3. Gaga's says:

    >Dearest Chris,This is so true Chris, Spring does remind us all that we have a chance to start over. I love to see the new growth and yet I see old bushes grow in similar patterns of growth each year that still gives me comfort. By the way, it wasn't Garden Party that I hacked, it was Pristine. And it is coming back! I am so relieved.Yours Truly, Gaga

    Like

I Appreciate Your Comments

