Miniature Roses & The MooPoo Experiment

“Tiddlywinks” Miniature Rose
Back in the dark days of winter, I was dreaming of the warm days of Spring and all the roses that would bloom. My thoughts turned to fertilizer. I have experimented in the past with Alfalfa tea and manure, and had some success. In fact, I have come to prefer it over chemical fertilizers.

“Tiddlywinks” Miniature Rose

I made an effort to reach out to Annie Haven at the Haven Family Ranch in California. She is the “Manure Queen”. Her family has raised cattle for decades and she has been fertilizing with manures for years. She suggested I try what she calls “MooPoo” tea. It is composted manure packaged in a “tea bag”. You just drop the “MooPoo” tea bag into 5 gallons of water and let it steep for about 3 days. Then, just water your roses with it. I ordered some of Annie’s MooPoo and decided that, as an experiment, I would use it only on my miniature potted roses. I wanted to see what, if any difference it would make to only use this particular product.
 
“Heartbreaker” Minature Rose
 
As soon as it was safe to fertilize, I began a strict regime of watering with Annie’s MooPoo tea. I think you can see from the pictures, my roses have really taken off! The foliage is a bright green and the blooms are wonderful!

“Heartbreaker” Miniature Rose

Are composted manures available locally? Yes. So, why did I order it online? I ordered and will continue to order from Annie, because of the superior level of customer service I received. Not so much during the sale, but afterward. She keeps in touch with me today on Twitter and takes a genuine interest in me and my garden. You don’t find that everyday.

Don’t know about you, but I have been insulted for the last time by slack jawed individuals in a blue vests at the local garden center, who don’t know the difference between topsoil and manure.

If you get a few minutes, check out Annie’s website: http://www.manuretea.com/ You’ll be glad you did!

About Chris VanCleave - America's Favorite Rose Gardener

Christopher R. VanCleave – America’s Favorite Rose Gardener Nicknamed "The Redneck Rosarian”, Chris VanCleave is passionate about gardening and growing roses. He is an active member of the Birmingham chapter of the American Rose Society, serving two terms as President. In 2007, he created the Rose Chat Podcast which has reached over a half a million listeners with news and information on growing on growing the world’s most beloved flower, the rose. He was a contributor to the 2015 Southern Living Gardening Book, has appeared on P. Allen Smith’s Garden Home television show and was featured in the June 2015 issue of Southern Living Magazine. Locally, Chris serves as Chairman of the Helena Alabama Beautification Board where he has spearheaded efforts to create a sustainable landscape in one of the top one hundred places to live in the United States. His writing is seen at About.com and on his popular website; RedneckRosarian.com, where he chronicles his gardening adventures and explores an intrinsic mix of life, faith and gardening. An agent of change with over 20 years’ experience in process innovation, Mr. VanCleave is leading the charge to reinvigorate horticultural societies and helping them to reach their full potential in the social media age.
This entry was posted in Hearkbreaker, Stories, Tiddly Winks. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Miniature Roses & The MooPoo Experiment

  1. >I'm waiting for my first Moo Poo Tea to arrive in the mail. I can't wait to try it! Your roses are just beautiful.Carolyn from http://www.cowlickcottagefarm.com

    Like

  2. >Hi Christ, I've done alfalfa tea before, but I've found it easier to apply the alfalfa directly to the roses to be easier (lugging 5 gallon pails around my yard to water almost 100 roses was back breaking). What is the advantage over using tea vs adding manure or alfalfa? We are doing a veggie garden this year. Thanks to you, I've discovered Black Kow and was going to use that in the veggie garden (tomatoes and peppers). Would doing a moo tea be overkill?

    Like

  3. >Carolyn: Thanks for your kind words. Thanks also for the ice cream and Strawberry Sauce recipe. YummmAmericanWoman, Don't think it would be overkill. You could start out with the BlackKow and supplement later in the year with a MooPoo type tea. I know what you mean about hauling a pail around. I am up in the 60+ count on roses now myself. It's quite a chore getting each one exactly what it needs to thrive. Still, I love it..

    Like

  4. Arbor says:

    >Annie is the real deal – no nonsense and a product that works. One of the added benefits is that a healthy plant is better able to withstand diseases. With the success you've shown from your experiment Chris, why wouldn't others try it? As for lugging the pails around, that's just one more reason not to join the gym :-)KathyArbor and Vine

    Like

  5. HolleyGarden says:

    >hmmm, you make a great case for this. May have to try it myself. Although hauling a pail around doesn't sound like so much fun.

    Like

  6. >I tried Moo Poo tea and didn't like it. I thought it tasted terrible. (Bad joke.)I have planted miniature roses as borders to a bed of hybrid teas and they were lovely. The miniatures are generally pretty hardy. The problem here in Oklahoma is that it gets so d*mn hot and dry during July and August that it just burns things up. You said you have miniatures in pots. I wonder if I could do that here. It might be harder to keep them from drying out in a pot than in the ground. What do you think?

    Like

  7. greggo says:

    >Ive heard that word slackjawed before, for the life of me what does that mean?

    Like

  8. Masha says:

    >Thank you for letting us know about this product. I make my own compost, and haven't really felt the need for manure, but it would be interesting to see how your experiment turns out. Funny, after your comment on my blog, I assumed you don't like brightly colored roses. But I see a picture of an orange mini, so I suppose I was wrong…

    Like

  9. >Bill – Roses in pots have done well for me. Just water at least 1 time a week, 2 times during the HOT days of summer. Greggo: I love Mr. Webster's definition: –adjective having the mouth open, especially as an indication of astonishment, bewilderment, etc. Masha, I have seen the George Burns rose at several Rose Shows, and the butter color along with the stripes did not meld well for me. I like trying new roses though, it's always a learning experience.

    Like

  10. Lola says:

    >I've heard of manure tea & had the opportunity to make my own one yr. It does work. But due to my situation I can't go get it from the supplier anymore so ordering it would be good for me. I don't have near as many roses at you but I do have a few. I would sure like to keep them as they were gifts from brother.Do you think Black Kow would be good for my asparagus? Mother always said the richer the soil the more shoots.Can this product also be used in a hose end sprayer?

    Like

  11. Susan Hemann says:

    >Love your roses! Heartbreaker, what a romantic name.I love Annie too. Have used Moo Poo since last year, great product.

    Like

  12. Oh, Chris what a lovely article, I am truly honored to be in the garden with you. Continuing the Haven Family tradition of raising grass fed livestock *free of antibiotics growth hormones and pesticides is so important to me. Because I raise my livestock on grass pastures only they are NOT exposed to GMO/GE contaminated feed. The quality of the manure they produce, that I harvest, hand process and package for use in your gardens is as pure as it gets.

    For growers with large areas to cover they can brew Moo Poo Tea place it in a spray bottle attached to their hose and feed it that way (Moo Poo Tea makes an excellent foliage spray) so there is no need to worry about burning the foliage.

    My Goal: Bringing awareness to growing natural and how easy it is to grow Green using my Moo Poo Teas!

    NOTE: Not all things organic are toxic free, USDA/EPA has not regulated nor do they require Green Waist recycling centers to test for herbicides and pesticides. Unfortunately compost from these facilities across the country are being bagged and sold as organic material for your home gardens. Mulching this material into your yard is not healthy, however in a large areas the toxins can dissipate over time with perhaps little fear of contaminating your gardens or causing harm to the grower. However using this type of compost material in raised beds and container planting could be extremely harmful to both you and your garden as there is no place for the toxins to leach to.

    I look forward to growing with you and I am here for you and your gardens http://www.manuretea.com or @GreenSoil

    Cheers,

    Annie

    Like

  13. Pingback: Blogfest – Annie Haven’s MooPoo Tea | The Redneck Rosarian

  14. Pingback: Manure Tea & Customer Service a Winning Combo for Mini Roses | Manure Tea

  15. Pingback: Miniature Roses & The MooPoo Experiment | Natural Soil Nutrients | Scoop.it

I Appreciate Your Comments

