>People & Roses Project 2011 – Week 3

>

This week’s entries depict a new generation of people who admire the rose. I think sometimes folks get the impression that in interest in roses is for people of a “certain age”. I hope this week’s post will serve to dispell that notion.

Whether you grow roses, help construct landscape for those who do or love to take pictures of roses; there is a place for you in the rose growing community.

Get involved in a local Rose Society and see a whole new world open up to you!

K. Turner, of Birmingham sent this photo taken at the Dunn Formal Rose Garden at Birmingham’s Botanical Gardens. She is a lover of roses!

My Son, Tyler helped me construct the raised beds you see in our garden.
(I’m gonna make a rosarian of him yet!)

I had the privlidge of meeting Mr. Prince at the Birmingham Rose Show.
He is holding a bloom of the hybrid tea “Sedona”.
His parents grew this rose and I could not help snapping a photo of him with it for this project.
Armed with a new camera, he was at the show photographing roses.
He also had an entry in the photography division, and did quite well.

______________________________________________

This summer, I want to challenge you to take pictures of people with roses.
It doesn’t matter if they are in the garden, at a rose show, at an event or just holding a handful of blooms. Be creative.
I will feature the entries on Fridays this summer on a weekly “People & Roses” blog post.
Send them to me at: Chris@RedneckRosarian.com

On August 30, I will draw from all the entries received. You could win one of the following:

  • 1 year membership to the American Rose Society
  • A 3-pack of Annie Haven’s Soil Conditioner, “Moo Poo” tea.
  • If you choose to participate, I believe you will capture something beautiful.

    About Chris VanCleave - America's Favorite Rose Gardener

    Christopher R. VanCleave – America’s Favorite Rose Gardener Nicknamed "The Redneck Rosarian”, Chris VanCleave is passionate about gardening and growing roses. He is an active member of the Birmingham chapter of the American Rose Society, serving two terms as President. In 2007, he created the Rose Chat Podcast which has reached over a half a million listeners with news and information on growing on growing the world’s most beloved flower, the rose. He was a contributor to the 2015 Southern Living Gardening Book, has appeared on P. Allen Smith’s Garden Home television show and was featured in the June 2015 issue of Southern Living Magazine. Locally, Chris serves as Chairman of the Helena Alabama Beautification Board where he has spearheaded efforts to create a sustainable landscape in one of the top one hundred places to live in the United States. His writing is seen at About.com and on his popular website; RedneckRosarian.com, where he chronicles his gardening adventures and explores an intrinsic mix of life, faith and gardening. An agent of change with over 20 years’ experience in process innovation, Mr. VanCleave is leading the charge to reinvigorate horticultural societies and helping them to reach their full potential in the social media age.
    This entry was posted in People And Roses Project 2011. Bookmark the permalink.

    4 Responses to >People & Roses Project 2011 – Week 3

    1. Samantha says:

      >Great challenge! I'm in..once our roses finally start blooming.

      Like

    2. steph_gem says:

      >It is so true. I am one of the younger members of our rose society. You really see the diversity of age during show days. There is even a mother daughter team I always see working on rose arrangments.

      Like

    3. Masha says:

      >It is a great idea, and I enjoy looking at all these pictures. So many different people love roses! Unfortunately, I am always the one behind the camera, so there won't be any pictures of me with the roses :(.

      Like

    4. HolleyGarden says:

      >I hope you have good luck with Tyler becoming a rosarian! I thought I'd start my granddaughter off early, but she hates the thorns – so no rosarian there!

      Like

    I Appreciate Your Comments

    