New Rose Arrivals – 2012

This week brought the arrival of more roses to my doorstep….. This shipment was from
S & W Greenhouse, WhiteHouse, TN. With this delivery, I now have 100 roses growing on my small subdivision lot.  Cannot wait to see them all in bloom!

After all had a bath in MooPoo, they were planted and are awaiting Spring!

3 shrubs of a new miniature, “All A Twitter”

These were planted in large pots and placed in front of the garage.

3 shrubs of “Moonstone” – Hybrid Tea

These were planted in the new raised bed I built for them.

1 Miniature “Cupcake” This rose is an ARS Award of Excellent winner

Last but not least, 3 shrubs of “Ketchup & Mustard” – Floribunda

If you notice the roses around the lamp post in the first picture. These are 3 shrubs of “Caldwell Pink”. I relocated those to make way for the “Ketchup & Mustard” roses! Nothing like having condiments on your front lawn!

About Chris VanCleave - America's Favorite Rose Gardener

Christopher R. VanCleave – America’s Favorite Rose Gardener Nicknamed "The Redneck Rosarian”, Chris VanCleave is passionate about gardening and growing roses. He is an active member of the Birmingham chapter of the American Rose Society, serving two terms as President. In 2007, he created the Rose Chat Podcast which has reached over a half a million listeners with news and information on growing on growing the world’s most beloved flower, the rose. He was a contributor to the 2015 Southern Living Gardening Book, has appeared on P. Allen Smith’s Garden Home television show and was featured in the June 2015 issue of Southern Living Magazine. Locally, Chris serves as Chairman of the Helena Alabama Beautification Board where he has spearheaded efforts to create a sustainable landscape in one of the top one hundred places to live in the United States. His writing is seen at About.com and on his popular website; RedneckRosarian.com, where he chronicles his gardening adventures and explores an intrinsic mix of life, faith and gardening. An agent of change with over 20 years’ experience in process innovation, Mr. VanCleave is leading the charge to reinvigorate horticultural societies and helping them to reach their full potential in the social media age.
This entry was posted in #MooPooCrew, #roses, Alabama, All A Twitter, Caldwell Pink, Cupcake, Earth Kind Roses, Ketchup & Mustard, Moonstone, Pink Pet, Rose Report, Rose Reviews, Santa Claus, Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to New Rose Arrivals – 2012

  1. I have often thought that the UPS guy should wear a Santa hat all year round, because he brings the BEST presents. Very nice rose choices!!

    Like

    • Connie, I has sure felt like Christmas this week! Just something about receiving a big box of roses. You know you have a little work ahead, but it pales in comparison to the wonderful blooms you will enjoy for years to come!

      Like

  2. roseman7stan says:

    Chris you really now how to make it tough on a cold climate Rosarian!! Seeing these roses really gives me the itch to get back out in the rosebeds here!! But they are under snow so I must wait….

    Like

    • Snow? Wow! Can’t imagine that much snow… We rarely see even an inch of snow here. How do you protect your roses in winter? Tip? Hill?

      Like

      • roseman7stan says:

        I have most of my roses planted well below the grade line around them. I also use mostly gravel mulch. So I just rake the gravel into a small mound around the rosebushes for winter. That is just the first two or three years though. Then I do not do anything, the gravel seems to aid in keeping things cold enough.

        Like

  3. Lara says:

    How exciting! I still have a couple months to go before I can plant more roses so I will just have to live vicariously through you. 😉 Your garden is going to be gorgeous!

    Like

  4. I’m delighted to see you have a large lawn, as I fear Chris that you won’t stop at 100roses, and I ask why would you want to. Happy planting and looking forward to pics of the latest acquisitions in bloom!

    Like

  5. Phillip says:

    That is very exciting!

    Like

  6. Lynn says:

    Wow, 100 roses in your garden. Amazing. I’ve got about 25 miniature, hybrid and climbing roses so far. If only they were all thornless. Those thorny canes are a bit nasty in the wind.

    Like

  7. Christina says:

    Congratulation to growing 100 roses! Your garden must be awfully pretty when they are all in bloom! I am curious to see how your three ‘Moonstone’ will be doing. I just planted one in our backyard last weekend. Mine is own-roots and I am interested to see if this Hybrid Tea rose is vigorous enough to grow well that way and not being grafted. I have seen ‘Moonstone’ blooms on the show tables and they are mindbogglingly beautiful. Its only flaw seems to be that is has no fragrance. Usually I don’t grow roses without fragrance anymore, but for this one I will make an exception. ‘Cupcake’ looks especially pretty to me, too. Good luck with your new arrivals!
    Christina

    Like

  8. debsgarden says:

    I love when UPS shows up, always bringing goodies! 100 roses sounds like a paradise! Please publish a long view of your garden when they are all blooming!

    Like

  9. Gaga says:

    Hi Chris,
    I bet you had a trail cam set up waiting for the UPS truck! HA! My Tennessee bare root roses arrived today as well. However, I am in zone 6a, problematic in zone 6a. Ketchup & Mustard will probably sell much better than it’s look alike Rosey O’Donnell. The only video I can find of your raised beds is from February gardens. is that the one you want me to see?
    Your friend,
    Gaga

    Like

I Appreciate Your Comments

