The Importance Of A Garden Bucket

I use quite a number of tools in the garden. Most have sharp ends and are used for pruning and deadheading blooms on our roses. One tool however, serves a very important role in our garden. It is the garden bucket.

Our garden bucket is white. This time of year it is lined with a trash liner and it accompanies me each morning on my garden walk. As I deadhead, clear beds, remove diseased canes or leaves, I put the debris in the bucket.

This simple process results in clean garden beds which equates to less disease in the garden. When the bucket is full, I tie it up and dispose of it outside the garden. Removal of diseased leaves and other debris from your garden space is just good housekeeping.

The result: Happy healthy beds and of course, beautiful roses!

About Chris VanCleave - America's Favorite Rose Gardener

Christopher R. VanCleave – America’s Favorite Rose Gardener Nicknamed "The Redneck Rosarian”, Chris VanCleave is passionate about gardening and growing roses. He is an active member of the Birmingham chapter of the American Rose Society, serving two terms as President. In 2007, he created the Rose Chat Podcast which has reached over a half a million listeners with news and information on growing on growing the world’s most beloved flower, the rose. He was a contributor to the 2015 Southern Living Gardening Book, has appeared on P. Allen Smith’s Garden Home television show and was featured in the June 2015 issue of Southern Living Magazine. Locally, Chris serves as Chairman of the Helena Alabama Beautification Board where he has spearheaded efforts to create a sustainable landscape in one of the top one hundred places to live in the United States. His writing is seen at About.com and on his popular website; RedneckRosarian.com, where he chronicles his gardening adventures and explores an intrinsic mix of life, faith and gardening. An agent of change with over 20 years’ experience in process innovation, Mr. VanCleave is leading the charge to reinvigorate horticultural societies and helping them to reach their full potential in the social media age.
This entry was posted in #roses, Alabama, Rose Report and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Importance Of A Garden Bucket

  1. Great advice. Hubby bought me two green soft plastic garden bins with handles and I use them just as you described above! Your roses look great. My 3 Julia Child roses (you recommended) are growing and one has a couple of buds. They started out so small I wasn’t sure they would even make it. Excited!

    Like

  2. CurtissAnn says:

    Well, good Lord, thank you for such a fine, simple idea. I have a bucket. Do you know, I have been walking any debris I cut or pulled TO the bucket, rather than carry it with me. LOLOL! And yes, often the stuff just got thrown on the ground.

    Like

  3. Great tip, thanks for sharing!

    Like

  4. I like the idea of lining the bucket with a garbage bag. I don’t do that and will from now on. Thanks Chris.

    Like

  5. My daughter bought me a “Gardener’s Third Leg” for Mother’s Day. It’s basically a cloth garbage bag that straps to your waist and leg. It’s awesome!! 🙂

    Like

  6. Lona says:

    That is a great idea Chris. Better than pulling my wagon around with me. LOL! Have a wonderful weekend.

    Like

  7. Pingback: The Importance Of A Garden Bucket | Natural Soil Nutrients | Scoop.it

  8. I have a favourite bucket too, It’s pink! Looks like you take such amazing care of your flowers… I must take better care of mine, i want them to look like yours! 🙂

    Like

I Appreciate Your Comments