A Gathering Of Roses

We are seeing so many beautiful blooms in the garden. I have been gathering at least a dozen a day for the past week. They are now at a peak. I will give my repeat blooming roses a much needed trim (about 1/3) to prepare for one last flush of blooms in October. It’s sad to think that this bloom season could be winding down.  It’s almost time to begin thinking about planting roses in fall for next years blooms. Here are a few of the blooms I gathered over the weekend to share with my neighbors.

About Chris VanCleave - America's Favorite Rose Gardener

Christopher R. VanCleave – America’s Favorite Rose Gardener Nicknamed "The Redneck Rosarian”, Chris VanCleave is passionate about gardening and growing roses. He is an active member of the Birmingham chapter of the American Rose Society, serving two terms as President. In 2007, he created the Rose Chat Podcast which has reached over a half a million listeners with news and information on growing on growing the world’s most beloved flower, the rose. He was a contributor to the 2015 Southern Living Gardening Book, has appeared on P. Allen Smith’s Garden Home television show and was featured in the June 2015 issue of Southern Living Magazine. Locally, Chris serves as Chairman of the Helena Alabama Beautification Board where he has spearheaded efforts to create a sustainable landscape in one of the top one hundred places to live in the United States. His writing is seen at About.com and on his popular website; RedneckRosarian.com, where he chronicles his gardening adventures and explores an intrinsic mix of life, faith and gardening. An agent of change with over 20 years’ experience in process innovation, Mr. VanCleave is leading the charge to reinvigorate horticultural societies and helping them to reach their full potential in the social media age.
This entry was posted in #roses, Alabama, Moonstone, Pope John Paul II, Scentimental, Veteran's Honor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A Gathering Of Roses

  1. Beautiful I’m so honored to have you feeding Moo Poo Tea to your roses <|;-)

    Like

    • Annie, I cannot express to you how much your product has helped my roses. The root systems are much larger and the blooms more vibrant as a result. Please express my hearty thank to your heifers……

      Like

  2. Holleygarden says:

    What a gorgeous display! I, too, am a bit sad that fall is coming. I hate to think of winter returning, and the long wait for spring. But, as you say, now is the time to begin planning for fall planting, and that is exciting!

    Like

  3. rainyleaf says:

    I love your roses! Prettiness and perfection! We had a bad year for roses as it rained most of June, but my Zephirine Drouhin is doing well regardless.
    Elaine

    Like

  4. putneyfarm says:

    The Moonstone is lovely…

    Like

  5. these are again, lovely…and again, moonstone has me under some kind of rosy spell…a must-have i’ve decided. where do you buy your bare roots?

    love your posts!

    Like

  6. Pingback: A Gathering Of Roses | Garden Roses | Scoop.it

  7. Aussiepomm says:

    WOW!! JP II is just so pure and delightful, and Moonstone is supurb as well!! Scentimental looks awefully similar to one that I have in my garden!! My Roses are just beginning to bud swell now as its warming up, ah Spring, you are but so close!!

    Mines up as well at AussiePomm – Norwegian Weeds

    Have a great WW!!

    Like

  8. Stunning blooms as always, Chris. In the northeast, my repeat bloomers are just gearing up and I didn’t do the final prune. I guess I’m too late now. Oh, dear. One year maybe I will get this rose-growing right. Chris, you are such an inspiration. P. x

    Like

  9. Jackie/Jake says:

    I, too hate the beginning of the end of summer. My roses peak in late June but are having a second blooming at the moment. I have one rose bush that will continue until December if we have a mild fall.

    Like

  10. patsybell says:

    Hello. Just dropped by on Wordless Wednesday to say hello. You are welcome in my garden anytime. Love these rose photos.

    Like

I Appreciate Your Comments

