Planter Chairs for the Garden – Guest Post

A friend gave me a set of old chairs that have been sitting on our screened porch for several years. This year, I decided to make them into planters for our front porch. This is how I did it:

Single chair – bottom already removed
Suki, the wonder beagle is always on hand to help!

Purchased two 15″ coco liners from local home center. A perfect fit.

I purchased a roll of chicken wire from the home center and stretched it over the area I wanted to cover. It was pretty easy to work with.

I began to press and bend the wire to form a lip around the edge of the chair. I cut off the excess wire with snips. You have to allow enough chicken wire to form a cup for the coco liner…

Pressing gently to form a cup for the liner to sit in, the basket begins to take shape.

I then inserted the coco liner and again gently pressed to form fit the liner.

I stapled the chicken wire around the top of the chair to secure it in place.

Viola! One Chair Completed!

In less than 45 minutes, I had both completed. (Chris helped a little)

I planted two types of coleus and a dark red calibrachoa (million bells). This will fill out the chair in the weeks to come and will spill over the edges.

The completed look. A very easy project.

Do you have an old chair you can try this in? Would love to see what you’ve created.
I must give a big shout out to Annie Haven of Haven Brand Soil Conditioners. I use her moo poo teas on all my annuals and perennials with magnificent results.

About MrsRoseDiva

Crafter, Gardener, Small Business Owner, I am a lover of all things that bring JOY!
This entry was posted in Companion Plants and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Planter Chairs for the Garden – Guest Post

  1. What a beautiful entrance! Love the easy to follow instructions!

    Like

  2. Lynn Hunt says:

    Thank you for the great idea and very clear instructions. Those chairs certainly welcome visitors to your front door!

    Like

  3. Your front entrance looks so inviting..a botanical haven. Love the ‘planter chairs’! Thanks for the photo tutorial…

    Like

  4. Greetings from Canada! Your garden looks unbelievable, being zone 8 things are just waking up up here. I grow roses too, I compete with the blooms in July and I have won firsts with Sunset Celebration and Peter Mayle. I live in Maple Ridge BC
    Heather A. Webb

    Like

  5. Sharrieboberry says:

    They look charming and lovely. No old chairs here but maybe if I even found one, I could stick it in the garden.

    Like

  6. FlorK says:

    Hi, thanks so much for following my blog! Your planter chairs are such a neat idea!

    Like

  7. I can’t help commenting on the beautiful roses at the top of your blog. Well done! By the way, thanks for liking my post.

    Like

I Appreciate Your Comments

