Roses On The Rise – Doris Day – Roses You’ll Want To Grow In 2015

Growing up, I remember watching the Doris Day show. It came on right before my favorite show – Gunsmoke! I think my favorite movie featuring Doris Day would be “The Man Who Knew Too Much”, a Hitchcock thriller that had me on the edge of my seat with anticipation of what would happen next. They don’t make movies like that anymore…..

I was thrilled to hear that they were naming a rose after this iconic star. The Rose, ‘Doris Day’ is a yellow floribunda being introduced in 2015 by Weeks Roses is one that you’ll want to get to know.

Doris Day

Doris Day

I have been growing ‘Doris Day’ this year as a trial rose in my garden. I have two shrubs of this rose and I can report that it is a prolific bloomer and is quite disease resistant. Of course one year in the garden doesn’t tell the whole story, but I typically do not see such stellar blooms in the first year of growth as I have with this rose.

Doris Day Floribunda - Weeks Roses

Doris Day Floribunda – Weeks Roses

20140626-070145-25305614.jpg

Doris Day – Floribunda – Weeks Roses

About Chris VanCleave - America's Favorite Rose Gardener

Christopher R. VanCleave – America’s Favorite Rose Gardener Nicknamed "The Redneck Rosarian”, Chris VanCleave is passionate about gardening and growing roses. He is an active member of the Birmingham chapter of the American Rose Society, serving two terms as President. In 2007, he created the Rose Chat Podcast which has reached over a half a million listeners with news and information on growing on growing the world’s most beloved flower, the rose. He was a contributor to the 2015 Southern Living Gardening Book, has appeared on P. Allen Smith’s Garden Home television show and was featured in the June 2015 issue of Southern Living Magazine. Locally, Chris serves as Chairman of the Helena Alabama Beautification Board where he has spearheaded efforts to create a sustainable landscape in one of the top one hundred places to live in the United States. His writing is seen at About.com and on his popular website; RedneckRosarian.com, where he chronicles his gardening adventures and explores an intrinsic mix of life, faith and gardening. An agent of change with over 20 years’ experience in process innovation, Mr. VanCleave is leading the charge to reinvigorate horticultural societies and helping them to reach their full potential in the social media age.
This entry was posted in #MooPooCrew, 2015 rose introductions, Alabama, Doris Day, Floribunda, new roses, Roses on the Rise, weeks roses and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Roses On The Rise – Doris Day – Roses You’ll Want To Grow In 2015

  1. Is she fragrant? Her flowers are stunning! I think I am ready to branch out from my single Sunny! 😉 Must find homes for a few heirloom peonies though…

    Like

  2. What a lovely tribute of a rose to a woman who talents seem endless: gifted singer, comic, actor, animal activist, and fine human being.

    Like

  3. Looks great, we’ll see what you think next year, I guess. Nice picture of Doris, too!

    Like

  4. Mary says:

    Magnificent. Thank you for sharing, because otherwise I may have missed this rose.

    Like

  5. Lovely rose. Think I will try growing it!

    Like

  6. John Bohn says:

    I would be grateful for information on the Doris Day rose for zones 4 and 5.

    Like

    • John, sorry to be so long to reply. I am checking on this for you and will get back with you

      Like

    • I have consulted a friend of mine in Indiana who is in zone 5 and thus far it has done well in her garden. Being a first year rose the jury is still out. I can tell you that she reported that it bloomed beautifully and had very little issues with disease. check out her blog at http://thegardendiary.com/ I hope this helps.

      Like

      • John c Bohn says:

        Thank you for this information, I am grateful to receive it.

        John

        On Sun, 1 Mar 2015 14:01:50 +0000 The Redneck Rosarian writes: RedneckRosarian commented: “I have consulted a fried of mine in Indiana who is in zone 5 and thus far it has done well in her garden. Being a first year rose the jury is still out. I can tell you that she reported that it bloomed beautifully and had very little issues with disease. “

        Like

I Appreciate Your Comments

