>First Bloom 2011 – Red Knockout

>

“Knockout” – Red – Shrub Rose
We returned from our Spring Break on the Alabama Gulf Coast to a pleasant surprise. Our very first rose bloom of the season! It was the bloom of a red “Knockout” rose. Last year, our Mutabilis had the first bloom. Being the “rose snob” that I am when it comes to knockouts, I was quick with the mantra, “this doesn’t count, cause it isn’t a real rose”…. I was rightly shushed and decided to give credit where credit is due. I will admit that the bloom did raise my spirits more than a relaxing week at the beach did!

During my morning garden walk, I found buds on: Mary Rose, Benjamin Britten, Golden Celebration, Mutabilis and Iceberg. Cannot wait till the blooms start rolling in.

About Chris VanCleave - America's Favorite Rose Gardener

Christopher R. VanCleave – America’s Favorite Rose Gardener Nicknamed "The Redneck Rosarian”, Chris VanCleave is passionate about gardening and growing roses. He is an active member of the Birmingham chapter of the American Rose Society, serving two terms as President. In 2007, he created the Rose Chat Podcast which has reached over a half a million listeners with news and information on growing on growing the world’s most beloved flower, the rose. He was a contributor to the 2015 Southern Living Gardening Book, has appeared on P. Allen Smith’s Garden Home television show and was featured in the June 2015 issue of Southern Living Magazine. Locally, Chris serves as Chairman of the Helena Alabama Beautification Board where he has spearheaded efforts to create a sustainable landscape in one of the top one hundred places to live in the United States. His writing is seen at About.com and on his popular website; RedneckRosarian.com, where he chronicles his gardening adventures and explores an intrinsic mix of life, faith and gardening. An agent of change with over 20 years’ experience in process innovation, Mr. VanCleave is leading the charge to reinvigorate horticultural societies and helping them to reach their full potential in the social media age.
This entry was posted in First Bloom, Knock Out Roses. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to >First Bloom 2011 – Red Knockout

  1. grouchy says:

    >Hmmm?????…"rose snob"…hmmm??? "Knock Out"….hmmm???Think what you could have in its place!

    Like

  2. matron says:

    >Looks like a rose to me,but what do I know,not very much.!!I am looking forward to my rose garden producing something this year.I will post pictures when I get some in bloom.Carolyn.

    Like

  3. >Well congrats on your first rose bloom even if it doesn't count.LOL! I would settle for it too but things are starting to grow now so it will not be long before you get a real rose bloom.

    Like

  4. Susan Hemann says:

    >Just love the rose! Beautiful color.I get so excited when the first of my flowers bloom too!

    Like

  5. HolleyGarden says:

    >Hey- a bloom is a bloom! Glad you gave it credit.

    Like

  6. Msrobin says:

    >Knock out or not, the first rose is a cause for celebration!

    Like

  7. PippaD says:

    >What a beautiful flower (but your right that's not a *real* rose even if it is stunning!)

    Like

  8. Martha Z says:

    >I think I'll have to wait a while yet for roses but my camelias are lovely.

    Like

I Appreciate Your Comments

