Mulch & Sin – Sundays In The South

20140504-082101.jpgWe had a few folks stop by the garden this weekend as the blooms are really beginning to pop. When we have people come see our garden I always get this twinge of “what will they think?” and “is everything perfect?” I have come to realize that like me, this garden will never be perfect and that a good load of mulch covers a multitude of sins in the garden…

Someone once told me when she heard I was having a local garden club visit our garden, “Honey, sweep the walkways and give everyone a glass of wine and they’ll love your garden” I did and they did. It was a wonderful day…..

Blessings to you this beautiful Sunday morning.

 

About Chris VanCleave - America's Favorite Rose Gardener

Christopher R. VanCleave – America’s Favorite Rose Gardener Nicknamed "The Redneck Rosarian”, Chris VanCleave is passionate about gardening and growing roses. He is an active member of the Birmingham chapter of the American Rose Society, serving two terms as President. In 2007, he created the Rose Chat Podcast which has reached over a half a million listeners with news and information on growing on growing the world’s most beloved flower, the rose. He was a contributor to the 2015 Southern Living Gardening Book, has appeared on P. Allen Smith’s Garden Home television show and was featured in the June 2015 issue of Southern Living Magazine. Locally, Chris serves as Chairman of the Helena Alabama Beautification Board where he has spearheaded efforts to create a sustainable landscape in one of the top one hundred places to live in the United States. His writing is seen at About.com and on his popular website; RedneckRosarian.com, where he chronicles his gardening adventures and explores an intrinsic mix of life, faith and gardening. An agent of change with over 20 years’ experience in process innovation, Mr. VanCleave is leading the charge to reinvigorate horticultural societies and helping them to reach their full potential in the social media age.
This entry was posted in #roses, Sundays In The South and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Mulch & Sin – Sundays In The South

  1. LOL! How true Chris! I am on my way tomorrow for a load of mulch myself! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love this post-especially the comment about the garden club visit! Thanks for reminding us to love and enjoy God’s garden gifts, but not to strive for perfection..

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Imelda says:

    I think I will enjoy your garden whether I get wine or not. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Right on, Brother.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I could be friends with the dispenser of that advise. I just had my entire garden club here for their 60th anniversary luncheon. At first I felt such pressure! And then I realized it was self-imposed, the girls were coming to enjoy themselves and each other and see what was blooming. I opened up some champagne and the rest is history!

    Like

  6. Brandi @Don't Disturb This Groove says:

    I love the way you think!!!!

    Like

  7. Jan Edwards says:

    Wow, so pleased I discovered your blog! Thanks for coming to mine.

    Like

I Appreciate Your Comments

